Health & Medical

Nephrology in Singapore: which kidney unit, and what a visit costs

The renal units at five public hospitals and the two dialysis charities, with the referral rule that decides your subsidy, published consultation fees, and the dates each was read.

Published
Revised
Written by
Nghia Hoang
Length
13 min · 2553 words

Kidney disease is the rare condition where the hospital that diagnoses you is often not the place that treats you for the next decade. The renal unit stages the disease, protects what function is left and builds the access; the dialysis that dominates the cost usually happens somewhere else entirely, at a charity centre in a housing estate.

That split is what makes this decision confusing. You are not choosing one provider. You are choosing a hospital for the medical case, and separately landing in a dialysis programme whose cost is decided by a means test rather than by a price list.

This entry covers the seven providers whose scope and terms are published and dated. Each block names what the unit runs, what it does not, and what a first visit costs where the figure exists. Where a provider does not publish something, it says so rather than guessing.

What decides the outcome

Whether you arrive with a referral. The Ministry of Health grants the Specialist Outpatient Clinic subsidy only to patients who come from an eligible source — a polyclinic, a CHAS GP clinic, A&E, an inpatient or day-surgery stay, or another subsidised specialist clinic. Walk in without one and you pay the private rate at the same public hospital, for the same doctor. No application is needed; the subsidy is applied automatically, per episode, once you arrive by an eligible route.

Whether the unit performs transplants or only follows them. Several departments run a post-transplant clinic without performing the surgery. A post-transplant clinic is follow-up, not an operating list, and the difference decides where the work-up happens.

How close the dialysis network is. The two charities are not interchangeable on this point. One publishes four centres; the other runs a directory of dozens. For someone attending three times a week for years, that is the whole decision.

Whether you pass the means test. Charity dialysis is not a discount available to everyone who asks. It is a filter, and failing it routes you to a private centre.

The seven providers, side by side

Provider Sector Transplant Outpatient dialysis Subsidised first visit
Singapore General Hospital Public, SingHealth Renal transplant listed Haemodialysis and peritoneal dialysis listed S$31.90–74.43
National University Hospital Public, NUHS Adult and paediatric programmes Not stated on the division page Not published
Tan Tock Seng Hospital Public, NHG Follow-up clinic only Inpatient units and a PD centre Not published
Khoo Teck Puat Hospital Public, NHG Not stated Prepares patients, places them with a charity Not published
Woodlands Hospital Public, NHG Not stated Inpatient and outpatient, including home therapy Not published
National Kidney Foundation Charity No Yes, a directory of dozens of centres Means-tested, not a fee
Kidney Dialysis Foundation Charity No Yes, four centres Means-tested, not a fee

Fees are the SGH figures published for specialist consultation and are not national rates; the other hospitals do not publish a nephrology-specific consultation fee. “Not stated” means the provider’s own page is silent, not that the service is absent — ask before you assume either way.

Singapore General Hospital — Department of Renal Medicine

SingHealth · Central · Academia, Level 3 · established 1973

The hospital describes this as the country’s oldest and largest renal unit, and the published clinical pillars are unusually specific: clinical nephrology and chronic kidney disease, critical care nephrology, glomerulonephritis and renal vasculitis, haemodialysis, interventional nephrology, peritoneal dialysis, and renal transplant.

What sets the department apart on paper is the support structure around the consultation, which most units do not name at all. A Renal Coordinator Unit handles dialysis preparation and financial counselling. A Transplant Coordinator Unit evaluates both recipients and donors. A Renal Laboratory processes kidney biopsies and runs immunopathology in-house.

Those three units are the ones you deal with between appointments, and the financial counselling in particular is where the charity application actually gets made. The department page states no exclusion, so nothing here should be read as a limit on what it does.

National University Hospital — Division of Nephrology

NUHS · West · adult and paediatric transplant · main cluster referral point

NUH is the flagship hospital of the National University Health System, and its Division of Nephrology is the cluster’s main kidney referral point, working directly with polyclinics and family practitioners. It groups its work into seven areas of care, and names a scope running across metabolic, cardiovascular, immune-mediated, genetic and cancer-related kidney disease.

The division publishes one number that almost no Singapore renal page offers: it screens health data from more than forty thousand patients across three hospitals and eight polyclinics to find high-risk cases early. That matters because it names its own denominator. Most scale claims in this field do not.

Adult kidney transplantation and paediatric nephrology, dialysis and renal transplantation are run as separate published programmes, so a child with kidney failure and an adult awaiting a graft are handled by different teams in the same system. The division page states no exclusion.

Tan Tock Seng Hospital — Department of Renal Medicine

NHG · Central · transplant follow-up only · named inpatient dialysis units

The specialist outpatient list is granular: clinical nephrology including chronic kidney disease, a glomerular disease clinic, a peritoneal dialysis clinic, a haemodialysis clinic, a post-kidney-transplant clinic and a kidney supportive care clinic. Inpatient work runs through a Renal Unit and an Acute Haemodialysis Unit, with a separate Peritoneal Dialysis Centre for training and home-therapy support.

Read that list closely and it tells you something the department does not advertise. It covers follow-up after a kidney transplant, not the transplant itself. If a graft is the goal, the work-up belongs somewhere else, and the department’s role begins after the surgery rather than before it.

The kidney supportive care clinic is also worth noticing. It is the pathway for patients who will not start dialysis, which is a real clinical choice for some older patients and one that very few hospital pages name out loud.

Khoo Teck Puat Hospital — Division of Renal Medicine

NHG · North · interventional nephrology · hands patients to the charities

The division covers general renal disease including hypertension and polycystic kidney disease, glomerulonephritis, acute kidney injury, and diabetic kidney disease run jointly with endocrinology. It also publishes a chronic kidney disease education programme, which is the part of renal care that decides how fast the disease progresses and which most units do not name.

Its distinguishing scope is interventional nephrology: kidney biopsy, insertion and removal of haemodialysis and peritoneal dialysis catheters, vascular access ultrasonography and endovascular intervention on that access. These are the procedures that decide whether dialysis can run at all, and no other unit here lists them together.

The division states its own boundary. Patients approaching end-stage disease are prepared here and then placed with the National Kidney Foundation or the Kidney Dialysis Foundation for the long-term treatment.

Woodlands Hospital — Renal Medicine

NHG · North · low clearance service · supportive care for those who decline dialysis

Inpatient work covers acute kidney injury, glomerulonephritis, renal consults for other medical and surgical departments, and renal replacement therapy including the continuous form used in intensive care. Outpatient work covers chronic kidney disease, hypertension, diabetic kidney disease, maintenance haemodialysis, and peritoneal dialysis with training.

Two services here are worth the trip to find. A low clearance service puts a multidisciplinary team around the move from chronic disease to renal replacement therapy, which is the stretch where patients are most likely to delay a decision until it is made for them in an emergency. And renal supportive care exists for patients who choose not to dialyse at all — a real option, named on the page rather than left implied.

The record lists counselling that covers transplantation but never says the hospital performs one, and that silence is reported here as silence rather than read as an exclusion.

National Kidney Foundation

Charity · islandwide · directory of dozens of centres · admission hotline 6506 2187

NKF runs the larger of the two charity dialysis networks, with a public directory of centres across the island. No single count is quoted here: the directory’s own text and the number of centres it lists do not agree, so check the directory for the ones near you rather than trusting a figure. Admission is by means test, built on the Ministry of Health’s national framework, counting income declared by the patient and by family members.

The sentence that changes decisions is this one: applicants assessed as able to afford private dialysis are directed to private centres instead. The means test is an eligibility filter, not a sliding discount, and a household just above the line receives nothing from it. A rejected application can go to the NKF Patient Appeal Committee, whose members sit outside the organisation.

On cost, the published structure deducts the MediShield Life claim first and leaves the balance as the patient’s co-payment. There is also a Kidney Live Donor Support Fund: open to citizens and permanent residents referred by a public health institution, covering pre-transplant screening, post-operation costs, loss of income and insurance premiums. Only the recipient is means-tested, not the donor.

Kidney Dialysis Foundation

Charity · islandwide · 4 centres · established 1996

KDF was established in 1996 and states that it has supported more than 1,200 patients to date. It runs four dialysis centres, sited in housing estates so that treatment fits around work rather than replacing it.

Its admission differs from NKF in a way that catches people out. Applicants pass both a means test and a medical review, and the subsidy granted varies with the assessed financial situation. Clearing the income threshold is therefore not the end of the process.

Four centres against a much larger network is the practical limit here. The nearest one may have no slot, and for a patient attending three times a week the travel difference compounds across years rather than weeks. Diagnosis, access surgery and transplant work-up stay with the referring hospital in either case.

What a first visit costs

At SGH, a subsidised specialist consultation for a Singapore citizen runs S$31.90 to S$74.43, the band reflecting maximum to minimum subsidy. The same first consultation at the private rate runs S$170.48 to S$221.27 depending on the seniority of the doctor seen. Those figures were published as current from 1 April 2026.

The gap between those two columns is not a different doctor or a different building. It is the referral. Arriving from an eligible source is worth roughly S$100 to S$190 on the first visit alone, and the same multiple then applies to every review appointment for the life of the condition.

Citizens receive up to 70% subsidy on specialist outpatient care and permanent residents 25%, with the exact level set by means-testing on monthly per capita household income. Dialysis itself is priced separately by each charity or private operator and is not covered by these bands.

What the subsidy actually depends on

Three things, and household income is only one of them.

The referral source decides whether you are in the subsidised system at all. The means test decides where inside the band you land. The ward class, if you are admitted, decides the inpatient rate: B2 and C share the same 50–80% band for citizens, while B2-plus carries its own lower 35–50% band, so the air-conditioned room costs more than its daily surcharge suggests.

None of this requires an application. It is applied per episode of care, which also means a single unreferred visit is charged in full even if every other visit that year was subsidised.

Frequently asked questions

Can I go straight to a hospital renal clinic without a referral?

You can be seen, but not at the subsidised rate. The Specialist Outpatient Clinic subsidy is granted only to patients arriving from an eligible referral source, so an unreferred visit is charged privately at the same public hospital.

Is charity dialysis available to anyone who cannot afford private care?

Not automatically. Both charities means-test every applicant, and NKF states that applicants assessed as able to afford private dialysis are directed to private centres. KDF adds a medical review on top of the means test.

Does the hospital that diagnoses me also provide my dialysis?

Often not. The renal unit stages the disease and creates the access, then the long-term treatment moves to a charity or private centre. Ask the renal coordinator or medical social worker which programme you are being referred into, because that decides the monthly cost.

Which units actually perform kidney transplants?

SGH lists renal transplant among its clinical pillars and NUH publishes adult and paediatric programmes. TTSH publishes a post-transplant clinic, which is follow-up rather than surgery. Khoo Teck Puat and Woodlands do not state either way, so confirm with the unit before assuming a work-up can start where you are already a patient.

How much does dialysis itself cost each month?

No figure is given here because none of the seven providers publishes one. The charities set it by means test after the MediShield Life claim is deducted, and private centres price independently. Ask for the figure in writing before starting.

Check also

Where this entry comes from

Scope, named units and published limits are from each provider’s own pages, all read on 23 September 2026: the SGH Department of Renal Medicine page, the NUH Division of Nephrology page, the Tan Tock Seng, Khoo Teck Puat and Woodlands Renal Medicine records in the National Healthcare Group’s Find Care index, the NKF admission eligibility and cost structure page, and the KDF patients page. Consultation fees are the SGH published schedule current from 1 April 2026. The referral and subsidy rules are the Ministry of Health’s specialist outpatient subsidy page, effective 1 January 2025, and its acute inpatient subsidy tables, effective 1 October 2024.

One correction worth recording. An earlier version of this entry gave NKF a precise centre count. That number had been counted off the site’s own index rather than read from a page that publishes it, and the directory’s text and its list of centres do not agree with each other. The count was removed rather than rounded, and the directory is linked instead.

Two deliberate omissions. Other hospitals and the private dialysis operators run renal services that are not covered here, because their scope was not verified against a dated source in this round. And no transplant waiting time appears, because none of the sources above publishes one — a number repeated from memory is the thing this entry exists to avoid.

Comments

No comments yet.

Comments are moderated and published from a checked-in file.